Pioneer Woman Meatloaf

I adore meatloaf. It’s easy. It’s filling. Prep time is practically zero. You can sneak in as many veggies as you want. Plonk (wow, spellcheck didn’t even ding me on that) it in the oven and let her go. I’ve made meatloaf before on this blog, but there are so many variations that I thought it was time to do it again. If you have never visited the Pioneer Woman’s blog before, you should. She has everything from recipes to homeschooling to photography tips. And apparently she is getting her own Food Network show too!

Ree Drummond’s, aka the Pioneer Woman, meatloaf.

Ingredients: (I halved this recipe)

  • 1 cup Whole Milk
  • 6 slices White Bread  Note: will omit next time
  • 2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 1 cup (heaping) Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • ¼ teaspoons Seasoned Salt
  • ¾ teaspoons Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • ⅓ cups Minced Flat-leaf Parsley
  • 4 whole Eggs Beaten
  • 10 slices Thin/regular Bacon

Sauce:

  • 1-½ cup Ketchup
  • ⅓ cups Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Dry Mustard
  • Tabasco To Taste

toss it in a bowl and mix it up

As with most meatloaves, you just toss everything in a bowl and mix it up. See? Easy!

bacon on top

Now, Ree put her meatloaf on a broiler pan and wrapped the bacon around the loaf. I don’t have a broiler pan so I just stuck it in my meatloaf pan and cut the pieces of bacon to fit.

finished saucy goodness

All done! I didn’t even have to re-sauce halfway through. Now, this meatloaf was delicious, but it wasn’t perfection and that was probably something I did. I will skip the bread next time. Dear husband does not like soggy bread and that’s really all that happened to the bread for us. Secondly, the bacon was a little chewier than I expected. I wasn’t convinced it was done, but I’m suuuper paranoid about my meatloaf being not done for some reason. The parmesan cheese was the real secret ingredient for me. The flavor came through. The meatloaf was really flavorful.

However, my still all-time favorite is easy. Meat, some plain breadcrumbs, barbecue sauce, and shredded cheddar cheese.  Toss it in the bowl and mix everything together but the cheese. Place half the mixture into a meatloaf pan and put the cheese in the middle. Then put the rest of the meat mixture on top. Make your own ketchup, brown sugar, dry mustard sauce for the top. It’s like a bacon cheeseburger and it’s fantastic! :)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on April 20, 2011 at 8:00 am

    This looks delicious! I’m going to try it out. I believe you should have your own TV show sister!

    I watched this woman on the Today Show make cupcake meatloafs….it was really neat. She placed a scoop of meatloaf in a muffin pan to bake. Then, she used mashed potatoes (sweet potatoes) as the “frosting”….it was to get kids involved and to get them to eat veggies. Except, I don’t know how to get sweet potatoes to taste good. Any suggestions?

    Love,
    M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

