Sites that Keep me up at Night

It’s been awhile. I’m so sporadic these days, about everything. It’s a bit ridiculous. I know that my life will once again settle down eventually some day upon a time when my little almost four-month-old (what’s the rule about hyphens? I <3 grammar) is not a wee one anymore. I am trying to enjoy both the fairies together and individually because time is precious and life is short and I’m pretty sure we’re done in the baby-making (I <3 hyphens, only when used correctly and I never know when that is) department. Unless of course, God does something radical. So that means less baking (I miss it SO. And coffee. Lots and lots of coffee.) and less fun cooking adventures. For now. BUT, I do have time to spark my inspiration during those late nights when I can’t sleep because I just got off work or I’m going to work or I’m waiting to feed the tiny one (she ain’t tiny. she should be nicknamed Bruiser. Or Hoss.) and I wanted to share with you the current sites I’m crushing on and some of my favorite posts.

Bakerella I’ve mentioned her before. She is the cake pop queen. All of her posts on cake pops are great and these are what I’ve currently got my on specifically.

Spring pops

Easter pop heaven

Easter dos

i am baker This woman’s cakes are UH-mazing. I mean, that’s all there is to say about them. I have my eye on several, but they would be very time-consuming (hyphenage! made-up-word alert). For me anyway :) I’m obsessed with her cakes. And she also has some beautiful cookies. I have lots o’ bookmarks with her name on them.

Faith Cake I think she is kind of ‘known’ for having surprises in her cakes. I’m in love. And awe. I think this would be a neat baby shower cake if you made the inside pink or blue. Also a neat way to announce the sex?

Christmas Cake

Shamrock Cake

Halloween Cake

4th of July Cake

Chocolate Covered Cherry Cake This, to me, is like the Mt. Everest of cakes. Oh my.

Vertical Layer Cake I will make this. When I have a dozen or so free hours.

Baby Shower Cookies

Courier Cookies

Ok, that’s enough. I’m truly obsessed. Two more.

Sugar Cookies #1

Sugar Cookies #2

This website really does keep me up at night. Truly.

Baked With Love and Butter A great site with sweet and savory recipes. Two that I’m going to be giving a whirl:

Cheddar Jalapeno Cornbread Muffins Perfect for MOPS.

Poprocks Cake Pops As stated, previously these will be fun for the 4th!

Cheeky Kitchen Perfect website for easy desserts and dinners.

Pizza dough Quick and homemade. I made the veggie calzones once, but no one liked them :( They just don’t dig veggies. Also, I add about a half less olive oil than the recipe calls for and less salt too. I add oregano and basil.

Chinese Chicken paired with Chinese Noodles One of my favorite dinners. A bit involved on the chicken part, but its certainly a crowd pleaser. You just can’t go wrong with Ramen.

Cookie Log I was really obsessed with these for a while last year and even made an Easter version.

The Pioneer Woman This website has recipes, confessions, homeschooling, photography, and even home and garden. It’s my one stop shop. I haven’t gotten too into any of her recipes yet, but there are a lot of things on my list :) I did make this:

Meatloaf I love meatloaf. It’s super easy (throw some meat & junk in a bowl and stick it in the oven) and filling and can be as healthy as you like; I’ve been known to put carrots in celery in mine. It was divine. I won’t add the bread next time though. Just not my thing.

The Coffeeshop Blog This is a fantastic resource for all your Photoshop or Photoshop Elements needs. She has a ton of free actions to help make your pictures the very best they can be. She accepts donations :)

lookie what I learned

before

after

before
after #1
after #2

Actions and Pre-sets

Tutorials

Clipping Masks (for storyboards)

That’s all she wrote. I gotta go to work mayne! Let me know what y’all think!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laura Thomas on March 29, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    I enjoy reading what you write—now my 2 cents…
    I, too, was pretty sure I was done in the baby-making (hyphen?) department until the good Lord changed my heart. My niece asked me the other day if any of my children were “accidents”. My answer surprised even me…my only “accidents” were the two that I lost in miscarriages- All my other ones were planned. The desire was placed (twice) in my heart for another child by allowing unplanned pregnancies to be lost and grieved for. I don’t feel like I have 4 kids- I feel like I have two and then two more. Does that make any sense to anyone else but me? I miss cooking and baking also. Remember, for everything there is a season…a time to laugh, a time to cry, a time to cook and a time to order take-out. Keep on blogging- this busy momma enjoys what you write!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for including me in a list of such amazing and talented women! :)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nikki on April 5, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I too love reading your blog :o) Laura I get what your saying. I see lots of things I want to try, thanks for sharing! I’m going to try the pizza dough tonight…I love homemade pizza but hate making the dough. I’ve been trying to find a recipe that is tasty and simple! Can’t wait to see if this is “the one”

    Reply

    • Nikki I actually had calzones last night with this dough :) I halve the batch and freeze half and last night was our freezer batch. I liked it better than fresh! Like I said though, it’s a little salty for me so I cut down on the olive oil and don’t add any salt. Enjoy!

      Reply

  4. […] got the idea for these at Our Best Bites another fantastic website that keeps me up at night. You boil the eggs as usual and then roll them or squeeze them a bit to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

