Spicy Macaroni & Cheese

I debated titling the post “The Best Meal You’ll Ever Have,” but decided against that because odds are, spicy macaroni and cheese gets Googled more than the other one (yes Google brings people to my blog sometimes!); although it would be interesting to see what Google brought up for the best meal ever. I’m not sponsored by Google, btw.

Spicy macaroni & cheese is half my own and half Sunny Anderson’s. I think my way is better because it makes it a whole meal instead of just a side dish. I hate making a protein AND a side dish. I usually make meat and either microwave vegetables, make boxed macaroni and cheese, or make a one pot meal. That’s how I roll. Side dishes are so yummy, I know, but honestly, who has the time to make a healthy protein and whip up an amazing side dish? Certainly not me.

I will warn you. This is in no way healthy. At all. There’s not even an onion pretending to be a vegetable in there. I suppose you could add one though, or any other veggies you think might go well. I usually add very finely chopped carrots and celery to almost everything, time permitting.

Sunny’s Spicy Mac and Cheese

  • 2 cups elbow pasta, cooked until almost al dente
  • 16 ounces Cheddar cheese, 1/2 cubed, 1/2 shredded
  • 8 ounces Monterey pepper jack cheese, cubed
  • 2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • Note: I add red pepper flakes
  • 4 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 4 slices bread Note: omitted
  • 1 tablespoon butter Note: omitted
  • Note: 1lb browned ground beef

I brown my meat, cube and shred my cheese while the noodles are cooking. I also get the spices and liquids together. I put the browned meat into the bottom of a deep casserole dish (I’m not sure a normal 8×8 will hold it all) and then half of the cubed cheese on top of that. Then the noodles, then the rest of the cubed cheese, then the liquid/spice mixture, then shredded cheese. I add red pepper flakes because I like it nice and spicy. It’s divine. So delicious.

pre-bake

shredded cheddar goodness

you want to dive in, don't you?!

Actually, with that picture, you probably don’t want to dive in. My food photography skills are very UNwow and don’t do the deliciousness justice. One day when my kids have moved out maybe I’ll take a class or something. You ever get in those sarcastic states of mind or like, when you’re trying to be witty? That’s me right now. That equals not good blogging.

But for real. Eat this. It’s great.

Daddy Dearest Rating: 9

I would absolute make this for someone else. Less spicy though. Maybe.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie Keeton (her mom!) on February 17, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Hi. This sounds great. Next time Jimmy has a bash, I will make this to bring. (without some of the spice) He doesn’t like spice, neither do I, but I will use the spicy cheese.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

