Pioneer Woman Lasagna

I’m searching for the last lasagna recipe I’ll ever need. I’ve tried several. Seriously, seven or eight recipes. I never taste anything that I’d absolutely have to have again except my husband’s lasagna. He’s a bit of wild man in the kitchen and mixed three different recipes together. My Type A-ness does not allow for such craziness in the kitchen! Now that he has the ol’ 9-5 though, I’m the batter up for dinner time. This particular recipe is the closest I’ve come to making something I’d want to have again–but even it would need tweaking, for me. The husband really liked it.

I want something that is super saucy, super cheesy, and tastes even better after a reheat. Most recipes fail on the reheat part, but the cheesy factor is also hard to come by. I usually double whatever it calls for. Anyhow, on with it!

Pioneer Woman Lasagna.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5lb Ground Beef
  • 1lb Hot Breakfast Sausage
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 14.5oz cans of whole tomatos
  • 2 6oz cans of tomato paste
  • 2T dried parsely
  • 2T dried basil
  • 1t salt
  • 3c lowfat cottage cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 10oz package of lasagna noodles
  • .5c Kraft parmesan cheese
  • 2T dried parsley (in cheese mixture)
  • 1t salt (in the cheese)
  • 1lb sliced mozzarella cheese

You make it just like any other lasagna. I guess the two things that make this recipe stand out are 1) the sausage and 2) the sliced mozzarella. I did like that you could taste the sausage in some bites. It made it very flavorful, but I would probably skip out on the hot and use regular instead. I also think the sliced mozz works better than the shredded for some reason. This was the first recipe I’d ever used sliced and I liked it. I couldn’t tell any difference between using ricotta versus cottage cheese. I didn’t particularly like the whole tomatoes, crushed would work just fine I think as well. It was not good reheated :( Which is always a huuuge let down! And I use an 8×11 dish so there’s always a TON more than a family of 3 (Little Big Girl is a 1/2 and the Bean is 1/2, plus the husband and me makes 3!) can eat. Which means a lot gets thrown out :(

In the next two weeks I will be trying yet another recipe :) This time with Italian turkey sausage! I’m also going with the sliced mozzarella again. I got the flat lasagna noodles so that I can make it an 8×8 dish instead of 8×11, so hopefully that will cut down on waste! Hmmm…but I didn’t cut back on any of the ingredients, so will it all fit? Thats just too much for my brain to deal with right now!

Long story short: the Husband enjoyed this lasagna and would like to have it again. Me? I’m still searching for the best lasagna!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CStoll on July 31, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Have you thought about dividing it into two smaller pans so you could have that “fresh from the oven” taste both times?

    I’ve used ground sausage before (only mild) in my lasagna, and sometimes I like it. Other times, it seems a bit greasy.

    The sliced cheese is genius! More coverage and cheesy goodness, whoo hoo!

    Reply

    • Would I freeze the second pan? Even though I’ve thought about it forever and am really interested, I have yet to actually freeze a meal :p

      Reply

  2. You can’t really go wrong with something cheesy, lol! I love lasagna, and my four kids do, too. I usually make a whole recipe like yours and then just divide it in two smaller pans. The idea is to avoid fattening them up too much, :) and to make life in the kitchen a little bit easier the next time around because you can simply pop them in the oven, :)
    If I’m lucky, I even have packed lunch for hubby!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dixie Keeton (her mom!) on August 5, 2010 at 7:33 am

    looks delicious! I like the two pan idea. If you wrap well, it should be great to freeze. Stouffer does a great job with the freezing. Don’t know if you would cook it first or not. With another baby bean coming, I would definitely try freezing now. You will have even less time after bean is born. I used the Crock Pot a lot when I worked and had a child (you) at home. lol

    Reply

  4. Stumbled across your site–here’s a link to the last lasagna recipe you’ll ever need: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Sausage-Cheese-and-Basil-Lasagna-103005

    I actually use LESS cheese than it calls for. It reheats like a dream and my husband and I can eat it every other night for a week finding it more delicious each time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

