The First of Many Apple Pies

It’s been a hot minute since I wrote about actually making something to eat, ay? :) I was asking husband if we needed anything from the store and after he gave me a small list he added, “And it’s about time for another pie :).” Now, if you haven’t been around here for a while, you won’t know that ‘pie’ to me means Key Lime Pie, but given my culinary lack as of late, I decided to leave it up to him. He chose apple pie. Womp womp wommmmp. I mean, it is his favorite, but it’s so unoriginal. Being the fantastic wife and homemaker that I am though, I decided to give it a try. And a store bought crust with store bought filling wouldn’t cut it either. This was going to be grandmamma worthy apple pie. The only problem was that I’ve never made my own crust. Or an apple pie. Thank you All Recipes.

Crust.

Ingredients: Note: I doubled this recipe so I could have a lattice top

  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening Note: 1/2 crisco, 1/2 butter
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cold water Note: Did not use the whole cup and it was really cold
  • Note: I added a 1/2T of sugar

This was the part I was most concerned about because a) I don’t have dough cutter-inner or a food processor, so it’s difficult for me to get that ‘crumbly’ consistency (like with the scones). But I do have my own method and that’s to take a whisk and a fork and just start mashing the small cubes of butter and shortening. Little Big Girl got her own mini whisk and helped too. It took longer than it should, but I eventually did get that wonderful texture. I started adding water 1T at a time and incorporating each T before adding another. You don’t want too much because then it gets too sticky. You need just enough so that it actually forms a ball. The recipe didn’t call for this, but I also chilled my dough for about 45 minutes. And that’s only because I had apples to peel.

Filling.

Ingredients:

  • 7 cups thinly sliced peeled baking apples Note: I used 8 green, golden delicious and I cut them into bits instead of slices
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • Note: Add 1/2tsp of allspice

This part was pretty straightforward. I added allspice because I love it and my husband doesn’t it and I’m always sneaking it into things trying to prove to him that he does in fact like it :) It blended with the apples perfectly and I could’ve just eaten them like that, but no, grandmamma’s apple pie was to be made.

To do the lattice I watched this little video. I didn’t follow it exactly, but got the idea. The pie was baked according to directions (45 minutes on the second part) and it.was.heavenly.

pre-bake

post-bake

three hours after daddy came home

Husband Rating: 9

Would I make this for someone else?: YES! Oh my goodness yes! :)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie Keeton (her mom!) on July 12, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    You can make this for me anytime. You don’t need all that fancy equipment to make a crust. You did good baby girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

