Giada’s Tortellini Soup (The Tastiest 15 Minutes Ever)

OK, so last night was yet again another night I didn’t want to cook dinner. I’m sensing a pattern, no?  But I had to make something or else my dear Husband wouldn’t have anything to take to work for lunch the next day. I really wanted to make something with tortellini, but it had to be easy and I wasn’t feeling the typical marinara recipe. Surprisingly there are quite a few tortellini recipes that are salads and soups. Who knew? Not me. But even all of those were too complicated and with it nearing grocery day (Friday), I am embarrassingly low on goods. Who did I turn to? None other than my trusty friend and go-to girl, Giada De Laurentiis . I was not disappointed. Recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups low-salt chicken broth Note: I used about half Better Than Bouillon paste and Bouillon cubes
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 (9-ounce) packages refrigerated cheese tortellini
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley leaves

I added this:

  • Basil
  • Crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2c (approx) heavy cream
  • Torn spinach leaves
  • Top with grated parmesan cheese (the sprinkle pizza kind is all I had :))

Now that is my kind of ingredient list. I was actually a little afraid it was going to be bland. Some of the reviewers mentioned the red pepper flakes, so as much as I want to take credit for the full deliciousness of this dish, I won’t. The heavy cream and basil was all me though :) I mean, don’t all awesome chefs add heavy cream to broths and soups? Anyway, throw it all in the pot and let it simmer until the pasta is to your liking (I don’t really understand al dente, but I don’t like pasta with a ‘bite.’ I don’t think).

It was seriously probably some of the best soup I have ever had, much less made. It was spicy, but not too spicy. Little Big Girl ate most of it and didn’t even mention the spice until the end. It was so good. I had two bowls. Then I had a few bites of the bowl I set out for Husband-man (he was in class).  I even had a bowl before bed. Bland it was not. Next time I might do some chicken breasts (or…gasp…a whole chicken) in the crockpot with the ingredients above, but add the tortellini in later to make Chicken Tortellini Soup. Husband actually said it tasted like it had chicken in it. Could’ve been the chicken broth? :) Anyway, this was awesome and easy and I will be adding it to my list!

easy awesomeness

Would I make this for someone else? Absolutely.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CStoll on June 30, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Yay! I’m all for easy, quick, and tasty recipes :) Nothing about this one not to like. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dixie Keeton on July 5, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Do you buy the tortillina already with cheese.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

