Open Face Chef Salad Sandwich

I’ve said it before, and I will again, I love the Cheeky Kitchen website! Our Vacation Bible School started this week and I’m a craft lady! Ha! Go figure :) It’s only Tuesday and I’m super exhausted, but I’m sure that has nothing to do with working midnights and being pregnant :p  I’m almost positive I’m not half as tired as the actual VBS teachers though! God bless you guys! Anywho, so on Monday night I didn’t feel like cooking dinner. At all. And I really didn’t really feel like cooking tonight but Mr. Husband-face wanted to give the Maniladas (of all things!) another try. Tonight was the last time I’ll be making them. Lunch was almost lost. In a vomiting kind of way. Let’s get this train back on the track before going off that cliff..

So I didn’t want to make dinner and I opted to make a salad instead! And yes, as the main course. Being in charge of dinner is one of those blursings (blessing+curse); I do what I want! I even took a picture, so keep reading!! :)

Recipe.

Ingredients:

FOR THE HOMEMADE BUTTERMILK DRESSING:
1/4 c. light mayonnaise
1/2 c. buttermilk
1/4 tsp. dill weed (fresh or dried)
1/2 tsp. chives (fresh or dried)
1/2 tsp. parsley (fresh or dried)
1/2 tsp. onion powder
1/4-1/2 tsp. celery salt (to taste)
fresh ground pepper

FOR THE SALAD:
2-4 slices deli ham, diced Note: I microwave all my deli meat now!
1 c. grilled chicken, diced
1 c. romaine lettuce, finely chopped
2 T. real bacon bits (optional)
3 hard boiled eggs
1/4 c. peas Note: I forgot the peas!
1 large tomato, diced
1 c. sprouts

FOR THE SANDWICH: Note: Omitted :(((
4-6 Slices of Texas Toast
1 c. cheddar cheese, grated Note: I didn’t have any :(((((

Pretty straightforward, although there was a little more prep work involved than anticipated. Boiling eggs, microwaving bacon (good way to get it nice and crispy fast, with little mess), chopping ham and tomatoes, and so on. But it ended up being worth it. I will say the dressing wasn’t evvverrryything I was hoping for, but I think that’s because a) I grew up eating the most SLAMMIN’ homemade buttermilk dressing done by my Nana and b) I went a little crazy with the..celery salt I believe :p

Other than that, it was delicious. I forgot how good salad could be with a little effort. Especially when you got a bite of everything together–the egg, some bacon and ham, so good! Mr. Husband even had two bowls. Quick, easy, and mostly healthy if you’re not drowning in dressing (I was :)).

tada!

It tasted much better than it looks :) And please go look at Brooke’s (Cheeky Kitchen) pictures! She’s what I will never have the time, energy, or talent to be! I’m totally ok with that, really :)

Leave a Reply

