Orange & Kumquat Chicken with $2 Chinese Noodles

I’m on a serious Asian kick. In fact, we’ve had an Asian-esque meal two nights in a row! I just can’t get enough of the taste of soy with noodles or rice. And isn’t there just something about how a vegetable just doesn’t taste like a vegetable when it’s doused in Asian flavors? I mean, I even ate squash tonight (the yellow kind, gross) and never even thought twice about it. Sadly, it doesn’t have the same effect on the Husband :( It’s harder to get him to eat his veggies than it is Little Big Girl! I actually sort of followed this recipe correctly! Yay! :) OK, but not so much as I look at the ingredients again. Dang.

Chicken Recipe. Noodles.

I’ve said before and I will again–the whole Cheeky Kitchen blog is just pretty much the bomb. We’ll be having another one of her recipes sometime soon :)

Ingredients:

Noodles (This served 6 people I think, so I cut the noodles by a pack each)

3 packs Top Ramen, chicken flavor
3 packs Top Tamen, beef flavor
2 T. sesame oil
2 T. olive oil
1 package frozen stir-fry veggies or chow mein medley
2 tsp. minced garlic
1/2 tsp. fresh ginger, finely grated Note: I had powdered

Chicken

1 1/2 lbs chicken breast, uncooked
3 well beaten eggs
2 T. milk
1 c. cornstarch
Salt & Pepper to taste

Glaze

1/2 c. soy sauce
1/4 c. catsup
1/2 c. honey
1/4 c. orange juice, freshly squeezed
Zest of 1 orange
8 kumquats, sliced Note: Couldn’t find :(
2 T. white vinegar
1 T. chives Note: Omitted
1 T. red pepper flakes
1 T. sliced almonds Note: Omitted

Oh how I wish you knew were I lived. No kumquats for me. Honestly, I’m not even sure what they are, but I asked, and they weren’t being sold. I couldn’t even find arugula today! Yes, I strictly shop at Walmart (I know, they’re evil) because a) it’s cheap b) there’s seriously 6 within a 20 mile radius and one doesn’t have tax on food purchases ( Y-E-S ! ) and c) Kroger is just too far. No Whole Foods. No Trader Joes. No Costco. So, that sucks sometimes when searching for those rare (are arugula and kumquats really rare?) ingredients.

Back to the recipe. Oh boy, another dinner where I’m cutting up chicken and dipping and saucing and making a huge mess with Little Big Girl. And the mess was even more huge than normal because at some point in the day my sink decided to come apart underneath, soaking the floor and cabinet baseboard things (which I’m really obsessed with for some reason), so we couldn’t really use the sink. Little Big Girl enjoyed herself for about 10 minutes until she realized that it was kind of tedious and horrendously messy. You know that crust you get when you’re dipping in egg and flour? Imagine your whole hand covered in such a fine…covering. But we managed.

My only real problem was the sauce and I have another lovely, smokey, smelly, burned on mess in my oven to prove it. I don’t have enclosed cookie sheets with raised edges (MOM?!). I have real sheets of metal, totally flat with no edges. So that’s what I used and then I read you were supposed to pour the sauce onto the chicken on the cookie sheet. Nice. Well, I used a pastry brush to baste them and then poured a little in the middle. Eighteen minutes later there’s a minor fire in the oven from burning sauce. No big deal right?! What’s dinner without a little smoke and fire?! Shew, did I mention I was exhausted and had been standing for like 2 hours?

Thank goodness the noodles were very easy to put together while the chicken was catching on fire and smoking out the whole house cooking. I tossed it all in a bowl and served. It.was.heaven. Husband even said it was better than something you’d get at a Chinese restaurant :) I had two bowls. And I was just upstairs eating it straight out of the serving bowl.. :) My stir fry had snap peas, water cress, broccoli, squash, and red pepper so you can’t really go wrong there.

Um, I don’t have a picture because now that I’m no longer using my iPhone (GASP. I know. But I’d rather keep my $30 a month) for a phone, I’m too lazy pregnant and tired to break out the Canon and then hook it up to the computer, but I promise I will one day! I actually took pictures of something the other day. I just have yet to put them on the computer :p I know, blogs are way more fun with pictures. I’m sorry!

Make this! It’s delicious and mostly easy…!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CStoll on June 18, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Wait, I missed the instruction part of the recipe…

    And you’re right, our geographical area makes it a little tough to find ingredients. I was going to make some hummus this week, but I couldn’t find the tahini at Kroger. Bleh. What I wouldn’t give for a nicer (or even organic!?) grocery store…

    Reply

    • Missed the instruction part on her website?
      Do you know what’s up with that Healthy Market place by Hobby Lobby? I’ve always wanted to go there but never have. Maybe that’s the store we’re looking for?

      Reply

  2. Posted by Dixie (her mom) on June 18, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    I will get you the cookie sheets with sides. I have some I will give you. Good ones. I’ve taken to eating RAW yellow squash. Never liked it before, but friends grow it and I put it in salads. Delicious. I even eat it cut up for a snack. Wow. Don’t know about snow peas and water cress. I love this new name – Little Big Girl. It’s perfect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

