Homemade Chicken Nuggets

If you have a toddler anything like mine and millions of others, s/he is a big fan of chicken nuggets. Unfortunately, the ones that are readily available to buy aren’t really all that healthy. I’ve tried one other recipe and it just wasn’t everything I had hoped for, but then again, I have been told I have abnormally high expectations :) I would insert a “roll eyes” emoticon here, but lack the formatting to do so.  Get on with the recipe you say? OK.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup low-fat mayonnaise dressing or salad dressing
  • 4 teaspoons Dijon-style mustard
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Dash black pepper
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 30 whole wheat or regular rich round crackers, finely crushed (1 1/4 cups)

Some of the ingredients are for the homemade honey mustard which I thought needed some tweaking. I think maybe I started off with too much mayonnaise (because I was trying to eye ball it and be cool, a la Rachel Ray), so I had to add at least another tbsp of honey and I even added a little plain yellow mustard. The end result was deeelicious!

The prep for the chicken nuggets was tedious for me. I dislike cutting chicken breasts into little chunks. I don’t know why. Maybe because the knives I have are far from chef-ly and it takes longer/more effort than it should. But cut it up I did! And Bugga crushed up the crackers in a ziploc (off brand :)) bag, which is always fun for little hands :) I will say that it took quite a few more crackers than the 30 or so called for, but no big deal. Bugga also helped me dip the chicken pieces into egg and milk mixture and then the crackers, which she also enjoyed because raw meat is usually off limits; it’s honestly just too much of a hassle for me because she wants to touch everything with dirty salmonella/e. coli hands! It made a giant mess, but by the end of the days now, I’m far too exhausted to be concerned with minor, non-issue things. Really, what’s wrong with a little mess when she’s behaving and having fun with Momma? (I told myself repeatedly).

So anyway, we did all that and baked them and they were WONDERFUL! Again, this could all be confused with my crazy pregnancy whims, but I just checked in with Husband to make sure and he said they were good :) Make ’em again good.  Not so hot upon reheating though, which was sad, but there were only a handful left anyway because I ate about 64. Not 64, but like, 18 maybe :p

And before the health police jump on me, I know that “butter” crackers aren’t exactly a health food. I think I’ve tried it before with crushed corn flakes or something and I just didn’t like them. So buy reduced fat or experiment with some other kind of crackers. OH and they weren’t crunchy like McDonalds crunchy, but still good :)

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bethany on June 12, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    i think you are one of the coolest and smartest moms out there. i have never thought about making the things you make. and i just love all your posts and ideas! just thought i would tell ya! :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by CStoll on June 12, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Yay! I’m always looking for something kid-friendly for dinner. I will have to try these out.

    Just a response to what you said about cutting up the chicken – I always use kitchen scissors to cut chicken. My knives are soooo dull, so scissors make the job bearable and much quicker.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    you never cease to amaze me! go you for coming up with creative and fun ideas all the time. i honestly don’t know how you do it, but i am SO proud of you!

    (i know you can’t imbibe right now, but i’m in utah for my little bro’s wedding, so i’m going to have a glass of champagne for you and your amazingness!)

    Reply

    • You’re too kind! Seriously, Google is my friend, and I actually think Cam sent this recipe to me from the Yahoo homepage lol.
      Hope you’re having a great time in UT!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Dixie (her mom) on June 13, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Good idea on using the scissors. Also, Stacey, the mess will always be there, but she will never be this age again and you will never get this moment back. Glad you didn’t worry about the mess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

