Giada’s Penne w/Asparagus and Tomatoes

This will be quick and dirty since I’m pressed for time and made it forever ago!

Recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces penne pasta
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/2 pounds thin asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups (about 9 ounces) cherry tomatoes Note: I used a small tomato that starts with a ‘C,’ but it wasn’t cherry..
  • 1 cup shelled fresh peas Note: Omitted
  • 1/2 cup low-sodium chicken stock
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves Note: Never have fresh :(

Ok, so I’ve made this twice now because the first time it was absolutely delicious. Like, so delicious I didn’t even want the now forgotten entree  that I served. I was (and still am) determined to get my family to eat more vegetables that don’t come out of a can or bag, so I first took a stab at fresh asparagus. My husband even liked this and he hates all things green and anything having to do with tomatoes unless they’re on a pizza. I did use fresh parmesan the first time and grated it myself…

The second time, I don’t know what happened. It wasn’t nearly everything we remembered it to be though. I can’t think of anything I did really differently the second time except I didn’t use freshly grated parmesan, I used the pre-grated Kraft shaker kind. So that could have certainly  changed things a little because it didn’t melt as nicely (maybe not at all) as the fresh stuff. I really wanted to like it the second time, but it kind of made me sick to my stomach. This could all be blamed on my finicky pregnancy palate, so don’t be scared!

Husband and I both had very similar and traumatic encounters with asparagus as children. They both involved vomiting, but if you’re trying to branch out in the realm of vegetables, might as well start with a bang. It really was great the first time :)

delicious. 50% of the time :)


4 responses to this post.

  1. looks amazing! i think i will make it tonight ;) i’m a HUGE carb fan, and pasta is my no. 1! i’ll have to pick up some asparagus. thanks, pretty!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dixie (her mom) on June 9, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I’m going to try this. I love whole wheat penna. I would add olives I think! :> I bet the fresh parmesan made the difference.

    Reply

  3. Olives actually don’t sound half bad. I kinda want some right now…hmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

