Meringue Cookies

I’d never heard of such a thing before my mom sent me the recipe. I was kind of skeptical because there’s only like four things in them, the main ingredient being egg whites. But that also makes them a little healthy right?! And when I read that you could add pretty much any citrus flavor you wanted, I was totally sold :) I LOVE LOVE LOVE citrus! But you don’t even have to love citrus. Reviewers on the Allrecipes site added chocolate chips and vanilla instead. These little buggers are versatile!

Ingredients:

  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest

You beat your eggs like crazy. I’ve never whipped eggs before so I didn’t really know what to expect. I googled some and tried to watch a video, but once I got my ‘stiff’ peaks, I kind of just knew. It took a solid 8 minutes or so! You CAN over-mix egg whites, so just be mindful of that. I say that because my original plan was to beat them into a frenzy and figure out what was stiff and soft later. I guess the best description of a stiff peak is when you dip the beaters into the eggs it kind of stands up. I know that’s not very helpful, but you’ll know :)

I baked the cookies according to the directions and when they were done, I turned the oven off and left them in for five more minutes. They’re kind of crazy! Crunchy/flaky crust on the outside and chewy on the inside. The inside reminded me of cotton candy. Chewy and sweet. I made three separate batches: lemon, lime, and Nellie and Joe’s Key Lime Juice. The only thing I would change is to add more zest! :) I made these for the Bible study snack. They went over pretty well :) I’d make ’em again! You could even add food coloring maybe to make them a little more festive? Peppermint extract for holiday meringues? I love a recipe with options! :)

inside of meringue cookie

the inside. see the shell and then the chewy goodness?

meringue cookies

have food will travel!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie (mom) on April 14, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    I loved these too and only 22 calories per cookie. WOW Glad you liked them.

    Reply

  2. For the record, these cookies were AWESOME!!
    I ate them until my stomach would not accept anymore!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

