Meatballs: The Saga Continues

OK, as promised, this will be second installment of meatball meals. These were my favorite by the way :) This time I even let A (my 3 year old for those of you who are new to D&D) help me make the meatballs. She loves getting dirty which is one of those blursings (blessing+curse) in life. After I explained to her that the meat mixture wasn’t supposed to be squeezed between her fingers like mud but rather formed gently into a ball, we were all set. These meatballs also held together beautifully and gave me no problems! Probably because they were squished into submission by teeny, tiny, adorable, munchable little hands. Original recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup panko crumbs
  • 1-1/4 lbs 93% lean ground turkey Note: Used 1lb
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp ginger, minced Note: Used…powdered (?), dry ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro Note: Pffft. Fresh, what’s that?!
  • 3 scallions, chopped Note: Couldn’t find them at the store. Sad, I know.
  • 1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp sesame oil Note: Didn’t have; didnt’ use.

Wow, writing down all the omissions and changes, it’s a wonder they survived, but boy did they. These definitely had that ‘oh my gosh I need to make these twice a week’ factor. The sauce though, that’s where it all falls apart. But who needs sauce when there’s ketchup and homemade honey mustard?!

Sauce:

  • 4 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp sesame oil Note: Omitted
  • 2 tbsp fresh lime juice Note: Juiced one lime
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 chopped fresh scallion Note: Omitted

Ok, I will totally take the blame for the sauce not being all that great. I’m not even gonna lie; I also juiced a lemon in there. Why? Well, it was laying around, having previously been zested and it just needed purpose in it’s little citrus life again. I LOVE citrus, and don’t lemon and lime go together like peanut butter and jelly? Apparently not, no, I don’t think so. The sauce was suuuper liquid-y (but that could’ve been how it was supposed to be) and a lot something else too. It had some bite to it, which I didn’t mind so much, just in small quantities. Baby Munchka however, was letting her meatballs drown in the stuff before I explained that sauces are for dipping, not swimming. But sauce or no sauce, the meatballs were fantastic. I did mix up some honey and mustard in an attempt to make O’Charley’s quality honey mustard. It didn’t work, but you could kinda sorta almost tell it was supposed to be honey mustard. It was different with the soy sauce meatballs, but in a good way. I served them with sweet potato french fries, which are my new favorite easy side by the way. Frozen. Delicious. Maybe healthy? Not as UNhealthy as regular fries?

asian turkey meatballs

Bugga Baby's plate

Would I make these for someone else? I think so. I probably would serve it over brown rice and actually make the sauce according to the recipe. Or maybe I would find a good honey mustard recipe and go that route, but sure, I’d feed this to someone who isn’t related to me.



Subscribe to Dinner & Discourse by Email

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie (mom) on April 13, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    I made the regular turkey meatballs for my “girl gang” tonight. They loved them and I did too. I made the regular tomatoe sauce with penne pasta and I loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

