A Tale of Two Meatballs

I’ve gone meatball crazy. I’m not sure why. In fact, there’s just general ball-shaped hysteria in my household. It all started with the meatballs and ended up with me taking a melon baller to a plum this morning. It seems now that the only way A will eat fruit is if it comes in fun shapes like the one produced by a melon baller (side note-is that even the correct term?) and she can ‘stab’ it with toothpicks to pick it up and eat it. Who knew fruit could be so much fun?! Plums were not meant to be ‘melon balled’ I don’t believe, but we did it anyway, and will continue to do so long as it works I guess. I never imagined myself as the kind of mom who would cut crusts off of sandwiches (isn’t that where the nutrition is?!), but I guess taking a melon baller to everything doesn’t really count? Not that taking the crusts off is bad or anything, I’m just kind of mean that way :p

Enough with the melon/plum balls. Let’s move on to meatballs! I made my first ever meatball about two weeks ago and then made more a few days ago. I’m in love! They’re so easy and fun and healthy (depending on what meat you use) and most kids like to eat things in fun shapes! As previously noted. My first meatballs were a recipe of Giada’s (duh) and the second came from a blog and I’m not sure how I landed there, but here’s Giada’s meatballs first.

Ingredients:

From here you can choose to use store bought sauce or make Giada’s. Guess what I did? :)

Simple Tomato Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 (32-ounce) cans crushed tomatoes
  • 2 dried bay leaves
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, optional

I did it the first time, but I probably won’t do it again =/ Anyway, the meatballs were really easy to make. Don’t over mix the meat; a few folds with a wooden spoon should do the trick. I didn’t have any problem with them falling apart or anything, even in the pan, with which I was happily surprised! They browned beautifully and stayed together; it was everything I had hoped a meatball would be!

giada's turkey meatballs

after one flip, browning nicely

The meatballs were great, but the overall dish was a little disappointing to me. I thought it was kind of pasty, not saucy enough. Going forward, I would probably just buy some store bought vegetable sauce and try that. Maybe make a little more of Giada’s sauce. It tasted good, was filling, and healthy enough, but it just lacked the ‘oh my gosh I need to make this twice a week’ factor.

Husband Rating: 6.5

Mom’s ‘Special Guest’ Rating: 9.5

Would I make for someone else? Errr. Maybe. I’d want to get the sauce thing fixed. Maybe shuzz up the flavor a bit too.

Ratings were all over the place though, so go for it! :) Meatballs were definitely good, so at least give them a try! As far as the second round of meatballs, I’m gonna save that for another post, because this one has gone on long enough! :)

Subscribe to Dinner & Discourse by Email

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie (mom) on April 12, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Yes! I loved this recipe. In fact, I am making it for my “Girl Gang” tonight. I’m making the sauce too, but will take your comments in stride.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

