Homemade Easter Egg Slice & Bake Cookies

Whew. Even though I’m already exhausted from coming up with the title, I’m excited about this post :) It’s a cool idea (not mine. go here and here) and while imagination is needed to actually see an egg in my cookie, I’m pleased with my second go ’round with this kind of cookie. Chickity-check out the first one. Where to start?!  I guess the dough. I used sugar cookie dough instead of shortbread because I just love sugar cookies :) Here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

I think this is the only rolled sugar cookie dough I’ve ever made and it was very forgiving and divinely easy to work with. After chilling, I separated some of the dough to dye and then rolled it into ropes. How many dough balls and ropes you need depends on how many colors you’re using and what shape you’re making. Probably should go ahead and start making ropes out of the plain dough too, you’ll need them later :)

dough balls

separate & dye

dough ropes

dough ropes

Now you’re all set to begin building your shape. It’s a little hard to think about, but you’ve got to build your shape from the bottom up. A heart might start with one rope on the bottom, then build up and out from there.

cookie cane shape

start building your design

egg cookie cane

my....egg? :)

Now start using the plain dough ropes to cover the outside. If you were doing a shape that had dents or holes (the ‘u’ part of the rainbow) you would need to fill those in with a rope of plain dough, which if you think about it, makes sense. If your design doesn’t go there, you need to fill the space with something: the plain dough.

cookie dough log

plain dough ropes on the outside

cookie log

covered up

Well. That certainly doesn’t look like any egg I’ve ever seen. Or a slice and bake cookie log. Now you need to gently role, press, squeeze, and gently stretch the log. Ideally, it should be round, like normal slice and bakes :) My cookies and my log turned out kind of square because I was mostly just squishing and squeezing from the top instead of actually rolling. Not so good :(

after squeezing/rolling/pressing

Boxy, no? I think I was just excited that I had made it this far and that there was actually going to be a design that I created in the middle that I didn’t care what it really ended up looking like. Anything would be alright. And anything is pretty much what I got :) After you’ve gotten to this point, pop it back in the freezer so that you will be able to slice the cookies. I placed mine on a cookie sheet on Saran wrap because that sucker was heavy and I didn’t want to break it putting it in/taking it out of the freezer. I think I lasted 30 minutes-ish before I was ready to get a’slicin’.

the center

It’s  somewhat egg shaped, right?

easter egg cookies

hmmm :)

easter egg cookies

mom tried to help shape them into eggs

Not quite what I was hoping for, but it was a fun. I think I’m going to try a heart next :) As far as flavor goes, I wasn’t thrilled. They were a little thick and chewy for me :( I LOVE crunchy cookies. These were not them. There also wasn’t lot of flavor. Some of that was probably due to the amount that the dough was handled (and it was a lot). It was a lot of work from beginning to end, but a fun project to do with my Momma, and certainly not so bad with two people! I probably wouldn’t try this if it was just A and myself, but certainly once Dad got home. Maybe. I’m cookie-d out this hot second! hah :)

:)

It actually looks like I made a Spring, happy version of the Sorting Hat from Harry Potter! :p Anybody else see it?

the sorting hat!

Subscribe to Dinner & Discourse by Email

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie (mom) on April 9, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I thought your cookies were cheerful and beautiful. Maybe not exactly an egg shape in the middle, but beautiful none-the-less. I would try another recipe for taste though. Love ya girl. I had fun doing this with you.

    Reply

  2. Thanks momma!

    Reply

  3. […] Log I was really obsessed with these for a while last year and even made an Easter […]

    Reply

  4. […] and Savior Jesus whose resurrection we celebrate each year some time in March or April :) Here and here  are some things we did last […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

