Rainbow Cupcakes

Apparently, my life is all about rainbows and baked goods. What a blessed life I lead :) On this second installment of rainbow colored deliciousness, I’ll be discussing cupcakes! They’re even a teensy, weensy bit healthy less fattening than usual. If you missed my first rainbow inspired baking adventure, check these babies out.

I made these fun, festive cupcakes for my Mom’s birthday and while they were a bit different texturally, no one could stop eating them :)

I started with a box of white cake mix. Whatever brand you like, just plain old white cake mix. Check the back for time/temperature changes for making cupcakes; most boxes usually have it right on there, but if not, it probably wouldn’t take a whole lot to Google it :) Mine had directions for substituting egg whites (4 I believe) for eggs, and I made the switch. I also (finally) substituted 1/4c unsweetened applesauce for 1/4c vegetable oil. After mixing everything together, and before pouring the batter into the cupcake pan, separate the batter into as many colors as you want the cupcakes to have.

Then add color! I used some cheap liquid food coloring (go me) because I wasn’t doing red, and I had a coupon, etc. I ended up having to repair my colors with some other cheap gel food coloring I had on hand. Sheweee. My coloring step was a hot mess. I promptly went down to Hobby Lobby the next day to buy some Wilton’s gel food coloring because well, that other stuff just twan’t (I’m from the countrrry) gettin’ it.

separate

food coloring cake mix

color

I wanted a nice, bright green, blue, orange, and purple. Red would’ve been nice, but never turns out well with cheap food coloring (in my experience). I dropped four or five drops of the colors needed into each bowl and started stirring. As I started stirring the green bowl, it started turning blue. “I must’ve gotten the green and blue mixed up and made two blue bowls. Let me add more green drops over here. Blue and green make what? Yellow? No, that can’t be right. Guess I’ll find out.” I add some green drops. It’s turning bluer. I drop some onto my hand, and sure enough, there is blue dye coming out of the green bottle. Seriously? Long story long-ish, I had two blues, one red, and one yellow in my cheap-o food coloring pack. So, I added yellow to my blue/green bowl and ended up with that sickening shade of green up there. Army green? Puke green? Hmm. NOT rainbow green :(

Once you’re all colorized, grab spoons for each color and start putting them into cups. Go crazy! I started with purple on the bottom of all of them, then layered the other colors on top. You could probably be as neat or willy nilly as you like, and they’d still turn out beautiful and different. I don’t imagine myself ever making a plain cupcake every again. This was fast, easy, and a happy little surprise for my Momma’s visit on her birthday. I didn’t ice the cupcakes because actually, I didn’t have any icing I was trying to make them a little healthier. I just dusted them with a little powdered sugar instead.

rainbow cupcakes

pre-bake

rainbow cupcakes

post-bake

The texture was a little sticky. I’m not even gonna lie. Like, strangely sticky. They still tasted absolutely good. They were just sticky. After I realized this, I even stuck them back in the oven for about five minutes while it was off and cooling down. It helped a little.

Stickiness: (1) egg whites? (2) applesauce? (3) too much crap food coloring?

Guess I’ll find out next time! Speaking of next time, I’ll also probably try to use more traditional rainbow colors. That green kind of bums me out. I’ll also try to be more aware of what the top looks like, especially if Im not icing them. A stripe effect would be cool. The possibilities are endless! You could even pipe the colors into the cupcake pan to make neater lines :) Have fun!

eat rainbow cupcake

taste the rainbow :)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bethan on April 5, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    The applesauce does make things a little more moist and “sticky”. It was prob a combination of using the applesauce and all the extra stirring of the batter that was involved trying to get the right colors. ;)
    (I think the colors looked good!)

    Reply

    • I didn’t think about the stirring causing stickiness. I wonder how much health is added with the applesauce and egg whites? The stickiness would be worth overlooking if it was that much healthier. Gonna have to look that up! :) The colors did alright, I just wanted a peppy lime green! ha! But the food coloring was out to get me lol

      Reply

  2. Posted by CStoll on April 5, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    What a fun idea!!

    The applesauce is probably what made it stickier. I make a “healthified” version of mini muffins using a can of pumpkin instead of eggs/oil, and they are always sticky. Taste great, just stick to fingers.

    You could use a toothpick to swirl the colors on the top next time. I actually like that color of green, even though I know it wasn’t what you were going for, hehe.

    Reply

  3. I wanted to thank you for this great blog!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

    Reply

  4. Posted by bethany on April 7, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    i love this idea! very fun! im totally making these the next time i make cupcakes!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

