DIY Dog Food Station

I’ve been gone awhile and I need to post something! I have lots of things to post that aren’t quite finished yet, but the type A in me won’t let me post something that isn’t yet finished :) So, this post is kind of a fluff post to make sure you all don’t think I’ve fallen off the blogosphere, AND it’s still a good idea nonetheless :) My mom is in town and A has been afflicted with some kind of pukage virus/food poisoning, so I’ve been dealing with that. Today is going MUCH better than yesterday, so we will be able to finish up those little craft projects later today.

Our dog food area was looking pretty sad when we first got our dog. I didn’t have money to go out and buy cute bowls and feeders, so it left a lot to be desired. She was just eating out of porcelain ramekins at first.

white porcelain ramekin

not that cool

They slid around and clanged together and Leah was growing out of them pretty quickly. So I found some of these at Walmart for about $4 :)

crock-big-dog-dish

a little better :)

Then we had a problem with Leah splashing her water all over the floor, which was highly annoying. A kitchen rag underneath was hardly visually appealing, so what did I do? I bought a $2 placemat!

dog food placemat

just a regular ol' placemat!

dog food placemat

i dig the green+gray

dog food station

looking thrilled!

The bowls still slide around a little, but not as badly. That could be fixed by attaching a piece of a no-slip carpet pad to the bottom of the bowls. Voila! Easy peasy. Cheap too! :) What does your dog food station/area/place look like?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meghan on March 30, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    well, you probably won’t like this because it isn’t thrifty (but it’s really not THAT expensive). We bought cute bowls :) & we also bought this plastic “mat” with a lip around it to catch spills. It was made for food bowls-came from Petsmart in TN.
    All together we spent probably $25. But we did buy it in separate purchases. For a LONG time, we just used a towel under her food bowls.
    As much as I love & admire DIY stuff (which I really do), our $25 has come in quite handy. (Mostly just the $10 mat-I mean, a bowl is a bowl right?)

    We missed you tonight! What day is good for you next week? Best for me are Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday :) I will even clean up the apartment for you! (I need all the motivation I can get)

    Reply

    • I would love to do Tuesday? Is that still good? And please, don’t worry about cleaning up :) Can Leah come too? If you’d like to come out here and bring Bella, we’ve got a yard for the dogs to play. Totally up to you!

      Reply

  2. […] Read more here: DIY Dog Food Station « Dinner & Discourse […]

    Reply

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by angelpeach838: DIY Dog Food Station: http://wp.me/pMJae-jO

    Reply

  4. Posted by Dixie (mom) on March 31, 2010 at 7:51 am

    I did this 14 years ago, but blogging was in its infancy and I didn’t have a computer to share the news. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. lol

    Reply

  5. […] yet, but the type A in me won’t let me post something that isn’t yet finished …Next Page Cancel […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

