Homemade Rainbow Cookies

First of all, the title of this post is not going to do these cookies justice. I mean, anybody can make a cookie and pipe on some icing to look like a rainbow, but THESE cookies have the rainbow INSIDE the cookie! :) I got the idea (and became mildly obsessed with the idea) for these from Brooke McLay over at the Cheeky Kitchen (beautiful website, go look!). Scroll down past the green milk and the first picture of cookies until you see them. Truly works of homemade art, no? I’m pretty sure I started making these about 5 minutes after seeing them, just enough time to make sure I had all the ingredients!

Ingredients:

  • ½ c. butter
  • ½ c. sugar
  • ½ c. light brown sugar
  • 2 c. flour
  • Pinch of baking soda
  • ¼- ½ c. water
  • Wilton gel colors

Icing

  • ½ c. butter, melted
  • 4 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 T. clear vanilla flavoring Note: I didn’t have clear, but it didn’t affect the color enough to bother me or to go out and buy clear vanilla.
  • 1 ½ T. milk

Reading the directions, it sounded easy enough. Mix it with your hands, which is good, because if you’ve been reading my blog for very long, you’re well aware of my lack of fancy shmancy cooking tools.

Great task for little hands

But. There’s always a but. My dough was pretty sticky. I haven’t paid enough attention to my recent dough making to catch whether or not its too much liquid or the lack thereof that makes it sticky, but I added more flour. I added a little more to the dough, to the surface, and to the rolling pin. Several times. I also halved the dough and stuck one half in the freezer while flouring the other. The freezer definitely helped me. After I got my dough issues (mostly) solved, I added color. By the way–who knew the color red was SO important in making other colors? I should probably buy some more :o)

I separated the dough into the amount of colors I was going to use, plus two more for the outside colors (see picture). Then I started coloring! This was also another great task for A; I got the color worked in a little and then handed it off to her to get fully incorporated, allowing me to move on to the next color.

After getting my dough balls in order, things got dicey. I made these before Brooke actually put up her tutorial post. I thought I could figure it out. Not so much, but I tried :) I rolled out the colored balls of dough (individually) and then layered them on top of each other. I placed an inch (?) wide rope of plain dough down the middle of my layered, colored dough and then wrapped the colored dough around the plain rope. Confusing, eh? Good thing I took pictures :)

Layered

Dough rope

Rolled Up

You’ll notice the plain rolled out dough underneath that hot mess? That’s to roll around the whole cookie log. After that, I wrapped the plain dough with some more green dough, hoping to create a border kind of like Brooke did.

Ready to Chill

After about 20 mins (or a bit longer if you like) in the freezer, these wonderful cookies are ready to be sliced. Use a sharp knife and make sure the dough is really chilled, or else you’ll be smushing your beautiful design, much like I did :) A sharp knife is one of those fancy shmancy tools I don’t own :)

Inside of my Cookie Log

Um. Not *quite* what I was expecting :)

As you can see, they look nothing like Brooke’s cookies, and only mildly resemble rainbows. And only then if you’re drunk and taking LSD (all joking aside, I hate drugs). If you’ll notice the top left cookie, I did that by using some scraps of dough, laying them beside each other, and flattening all of them with a roller. I baked them about 8 minutes longer than the recipe called before because I like a crunchy cookie and was waiting for the edges to brown, but they never, ever did. My first thought upon first tasting the cookies were that they were kind of bland, like no taste at all BUT (there it is again!) then I remembered you were supposed to ice them and make little cookie sandwiches. Duh. The icing was very simple to make and I just plopped it in a freezer ziploc bag with a corner snipped off to ice. Then, they were delicious :) And even though I baked them into kingdom come, they were still very soft and chewy.

Final Product

A's Special Cookie :)

Husband rating: 8. The office fellas gave them a 9 and apparently only because they saw Brooke’s cookies and deducted for looks :)

My next big goal is making one with an Easter egg inside. Surprisingly, Google hasn’t been much help. I’ve only been able to find polymer clay canes and lack the brains to transfer the concept to cookie making. Ideas? Welcomed!

My vision

Don’t be fooled. It’s clay! It came from here and I’ve emailed the lady for tips :) She’s emailed back, and well, I’ll keep you posted! My momma is coming this weekend and this is another fun thing I want us to do! :)

Subscribe to Dinner & Discourse by Email

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Caroline on March 25, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    this made me want sugar cookies so bad! they look so cute & yummy. i think kate and i might make these sometime soon.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dixie (mom) on March 25, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    They look beautiful for the first try. I imagine you will get better with practice. This looks pretty tricky.

    Reply

  3. Oh! They turned out adorably! I will be THRILLED to see what the polymer clay gal teaches you. It’s like a whole new art for the kitchen, isn’t it?!

    Happy, Happy baking, my dear!

    Reply

  4. […] healthy less fattening than usual. If you missed my first rainbow inspired baking adventure, check these babies […]

    Reply

  5. […] I’m pleased with my second go ’round with this kind of cookie. Chickity-check out the first one. Where to start?!  I guess the dough. I used sugar cookie dough instead of shortbread because […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

