Crockpot Chicken and Dumplings

This recipe is ridiculously easy and pretty tasty :) I love crockpot recipes, especially on Bible study and choir nights. C (my husband!) gets home between 5-5:30 and I have to bounce at 6pm; doesn’t leave a whole lot of catch-up time, so I certainly don’t want to spend those precious moments slaving over dinner! This is a pretty fool-proof (tried and tested by yours truly, #1 cooking fool. at times.) recipe with only a handful of ingredients. Recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 (10.75 ounce) cans condensed cream of chicken soup Note: I use one cream of chicken and one cream of mushroom.
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 2 (10 ounce) packages refrigerated biscuit dough, torn into pieces Note: I buy the frozen bags and use about 4 frozen biscuits.
  • Optional: One lg can of peas and carrots.
  • Optional: One can of water.
  • Optional: Salt, pepper, garlic powder.

I’m not even sure what the recipe says anymore I’ve made this on my own so many different ways now. I put frozen chicken breasts rubbed with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, 2 cans of soup, 1 can of water, chopped onion and peas & carrots into the crockpot on high around 9am. Around 1pm, I turn it down to low, and about 2 hours before serving, I put the frozen biscuits into the pot. I’ve been making this for about a year now and just recently (like yesterday) noticed that the recipe called for refrigerated biscuits, but no matter :) Once the biscuits get soft enough to tear apart (30ish minutes), tear them apart. They will absorb a lot of water, drying out the meal, so that’s why I added the can of water to my recipe with FROZEN biscuits. Just make sure to break them up into bite sizes because even though I’m a dumpling girl, those puppies get huge. Once the biscuits are cooked through and the chicken shred-able, you’re all set! :) A little cheese sprinkled on top is also a nice edition.

Seems like I put cheese on everything. Perhaps that has something to do with the toddler in my midst?

Would I make this for someone else? Yes! I absolutely would make this for someone else, especially to take to a brand new-home-from-the-hospital momma :) It’s easy and cheap and perfect for something like that!

Subscribe to Dinner & Discourse by Email

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie (mom) on March 24, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Sounds great and easy. I’ll try it sometime. I just happened to have chicken and dumplings at a friend’s house today for lunch. She made it. It was good.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dixie (mom) on March 25, 2010 at 5:02 am

    I loved the crockpot too when you were young and I worked. It did make it so much easier to have dinner already made when I got home.

    Reply

  3. I’ve never made something in a crock pot. Isn’t that weird?

    Possibly because I don’t own a crock pot.

    But I’m always tempted.

    Reply

    • I think I got mine as a wedding gift and I love it. You literally just throw something in the pot in the morning, go to work (or not), come back home and voila! Just like that (that being nothing at all really), dinner is ready :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

