Bacon Chocolate Cupcakes

Bacon+Chocolate, how could you go wrong? I’m a ginormous (I can’t believe that’s not a word yet!) Top Chef fan and this combination has been cropping up a lot over past seasons, especially the most recent one. Now I’ve taken a stab at it :) Recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 12 slices bacon Note: Used 6.
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup cold, strong, brewed coffee
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder, for dusting Note: Omitted.

The original recipe said to ice the cupcakes with your favorite chocolate icing, but I didn’t have any, so I made some chocolate ganache. Recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 4 ounces milk chocolate, broken into small pieces Note: Used 1/2 cup semi-sweet choc. chips.

There are several bacon chocolate cupcake recipes floating around on the internet, and I couldn’t find one with a clear lead as far as user reviews went, so I went with this one because it seemed to be the most daring what with the coffee AND bacon AND chocolate. I was very pleasantly surprised! They were SO moist. They were amazing. I baked my bacon in a 400° oven for 17 minutes-ish.

I can never get bacon ‘crumbly’ without burning it, so I’m not sure the proper texture was achieved. I had to tear it into pieces. When you got a bite of bacon in the cupcake, it wasn’t a crunch, but more of a chewy texture. The crunch might’ve been nice. The bacon flavor was not overwhelming, probably because I used half the amount called for, but since this was my first attempt at bacon+chocolate goodness, I wanted to take it easy. Placing little pieces of bacon on top is a must! I think crunchier would’ve been better and might even try bacon bits next time? Hmm. I could only very subtly taste the coffee as well, but C’s work buds said they could taste it, not in a bad way though.

The ganache was super simple and the perfect homemade icing. Just whip it up (probably half would work for this recipe) and dip the cupcakes in there. It would also be perfect for s’mores, fruit, or whatever else you’d like to dip in chocolate.

Husband rating: 8 (but the work dudes gave them a 9) :) Maybe I’ll start sending all my recipes to the office?!

Would I make these for someone else? Yes. I think it would be fun to try and pass them off as regular chocolate cupcakes and THEN tell people what they were eating. The flavors are really subtle, but more sophisticated than plain ol’ chocolate.

Subscribe to Dinner & Discourse by Email

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CStoll on March 23, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Glad to find another Top Chef fan! I’ve been curious about the bacon + chocolate combo as well, so I’m happy to hear that they were good. I don’t usually like coffee, but I LOVE the coffee + chocolate combo in baked goods. I’ve made a few chocolate cakes with coffee, and the flavor was amazing.

    Have you seen chocolate dipped bacon? I think the most recent Taste of Home magazine featured a recipe for it. Looked interesting and made me want to try it, but I’m sure it wouldn’t fit into the *ahem* healthy diet I’m supposed to be on ;)

    Reply

    • OH Top Chef be still my heart! I have a not-so-secret crush on Tom Colicchio :) On the last one, did you think that Kevin (I think that was his name?) looked like the Travelocity Roaming Gnome? I love Top Chef :)
      Have not seen/heard of bacon dipped in chocolate, but will certainly be checking it out!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Dixie (mom) on March 23, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    They look beautiful! One of the prettiest cupcakes I’ve even seen. I can’t imagine bacon w/chocolate, but Ina on Food Network (Barefoot Contessa) uses Instant Coffee crystals with most of her chocolate recipes. I do too now. It helps bring out the chocolate flavor.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Di on March 24, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Cook bacon in microwave to get it crispy.

    Reply

    • How long? Plate and paper towel? Thanks for the tip!

      Reply

      • Posted by Di on March 26, 2010 at 6:36 am

        depends, put papertowels on bottom and top if you don’t have a bacon cooker for the microwave. (great $4.00 investment). Paper on top if you have a bacon cooker. For regular sliced, I usually start @ 1 min per slice. peek and then add time in 1 minute increments. 4 slices of thick usually take 6. but it comes out perfect, all the fat drained off, flat, crisp…

  4. Posted by Dixie (mom) on March 25, 2010 at 4:57 am

    Love Top Chef. Not so much on Top Chef Masters. They are a bunch of cooking Premadonnas (sp?).

    Reply

  5. Every time I see a bacon desert recipe I’m interested. I haven’t had the guts to try one yet, but with a rating like 8/9 I’m tempted!

    Reply

    • You should! They were so moist, and like I said, cutting the bacon in half made it really mild for a first try. Without the bacon on top, I’m not even sure people would know there was bacon in it; just a little extra something they can’t quite place :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

