Blueberry Cream Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sour cream Note: fat free is just fine!
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • ¼ tsp. Salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2.5 cups fresh blueberries Note: fresh is best, but frozen works; make sure to drain them first.

Topping

  • 3 tbsp flour
  • ½ cup brown sugar Note: I use half of this.
  • 3 tbsp softened butter
  • 3 tbsp chopped pecans Note: Omitted.

Directions

Combine sour cream, 2 tbsp flour, sugar, vanilla, salt, and egg. Beat 5 minutes on medium speed. Fold in blueberries. Pour into 9” unbaked pastry shell (I’ve just used store bought, but if you feel froggy, by all means make your own!) & bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

Combine topping ingredients and mix well. You want the butter to be soft, but not too soft. The topping should kind of be like little chunks or balls of  sugar and butter which will melt and spread while it bakes. Sprinkle crumble-y mixture over top of cooked pie. Bake 10 additional minutes. Chill completely before serving.

I absolutely love this pie. I made two in one week. C asked me to stop making them for a while after that. I have and will again (I’m working toward making this my ‘signature’ potluck dish!) make this for other people. I took it to one party and had two recipe requests. I can’t the credit though; a friend made it for our Bible study’s pie night and I’ve been in love ever since! She also made a homemade pie crust which was heavenly, but I don’t even own a pie plate (go me!), so you’re on your own for that.

Unrelated, the list of things that I need for my kitchen is growing! Food processor, zesting plane (you know what I’m talking about?), pie plate, muffin tins, ice cream scooper with the little scooper outer thing, and a bread machine. Whew. I should keep track of this better. What holiday is next? Mother’s Day? I should get at least two of these things then, right? Being the awesome mom & wife that I am and all, hah! :) One from the husband and one from the girl? Totally doable.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by CStoll on May 26, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    So, as you know, I made this pie for MOPS last week. Love it! Mine didn’t come out as pretty as yours or Megs, though. I couldn’t get the topping to crumble. It kind of had the consistency of toothpaste, but then baked to a golden brown hard lattice on top, lol. Thank goodness it still tasted good. The fresh blueberries were worth it, IMHO, even though the price tag on them is hard to swallow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

