Fancy Towels w/Pockets!

Around Christmas time, my choir director had a little soiree at her house. It was b-e-a-utiful. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s house–does this include stealing ideas?! She had these towels in one of her bathrooms that I absolutely fell in love with (not ending sentences with prepositions is much harder than it sounds). My upstairs bathroom (the one guests use) was leaving a lot to be desired and I figured fancy towels would be a nice (free) way to make it look a little nicer for guests. I Google everything. Everything. Finding a fancy-towel-folding tutorial was a lot harder than I anticipated, but I found one here, at the Red Chair Blog and was so inspired I decided to do my own little tutorial. I’m not exactly clear yet on proper blogging etiquette (yes, there is blogging etiquette), so I hope I’m not stepping on anyone’s toesies (tow-zees).

Start with your bath towel and fold it into thirds. Go hang it on the towel rack.

Ha! I went to hang my bath towel up and this is what I was greeted with upon returning :) Get your dog out of the way and start with your hand towel face up (tag side down). Obviously, if you’ve removed the tag and there isn’t a design, it doesn’t really matter.

Fold the bottom about 2/3 of the way up.

Take the top of the part you just folded UP and fold it back DOWN on top of itself. You may have to adjust the length of the initial fold UP in order to achieve this look. You don’t want this fold to be half way up the towel or it won’t be long enough to hang over something.

Flip everything over.

Fold (using that word a lot, eh? it is fancy towel FOLDing though) the two sides toward each other, tucking the right side into the pocket on the left side.

A different folding and tucking view.

The pocket! Over half way now! Take a little break and give yourself a pat on the back. Envision all the happy memories you’re going to have walking into your bathroom and seeing the masterpiece you’ve created.

Start with the washcloth tag side up. Start your washcloth fan by folding the tag in and then flip over and fold, flip over and fold, etc, until…

It looks like this.

Fold the washcloth in half.

Tuck the washcloth into the pocket you just created in the hand towel.

Finished :)

So, give it a try. If you have a dedicated guest bathroom (this is not dedicated), you could even put travel sized shampoo and soap in there. A ‘welcome to our bathroom’ card detailing where everything can be found, whatever. The possibilities are endless.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

20 responses to this post.

  1. I have always wondered how they do that in hotels, etc! I think I’ll have to try it in our guest bathroom, even though it is also my son’s bathroom!

    Reply

  2. Posted by CStoll on March 11, 2010 at 8:27 am

    That is so cute! I love the alternating colors as well.

    Reply

  3. you are so funny!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Dixie (mom) on March 12, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I “lol”at the dog pic. So funny!

    Reply

  5. Loved loved this idea and i am sure it will make any guest smile :)

    Reply

  6. […] Fancy Towels w/Pockets! [Dinner & Discourse via Instructables] Tagged:diyfoldinghousehold […]

    Reply

  7. Wow, I stumbled here from Lifehacker to check out the folded towels and I ended up reading half your website. You are my *idol* now because you do all this stuff that I would love to do but don’t have the energy. What’s your secret?? Oh yeah, you’re 25 yrs old, hahaha. I’m impressed, feeling guilty cuz I don’t do half of what you do, but challenged to get off my rear and change that situation.

    Reply

    • Well I’m glad you stayed to read awhile! My secret? Ohhh it’s only by the grace of God, lots of caffeine, and lots of ideas from Google :)

      Reply

  8. Posted by Paul on March 28, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Great idea! Just folded a few towels up, can’t wait to see my wife’s reaction tomorrow morning. :)

    Funniest thing though is the picture of your Boxer. I have two of them and as soon as something is put on the floor, they run over to lay on it. Gotta love those crazy dogs!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Fabrizio on March 31, 2010 at 7:51 am

    WoW!!!

    Reply

  10. Posted by teresa on April 13, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    my son sent me this site but i couldn’t get past the adorable boxer. I had to put my boxer down on Thanksgiving day. I haven’t gotten over the loss yet. Your dog looked like a clone of my Rusty dog. My best friend of 10 years. I’ll keep your site to enjoy the reminders of just how much fun a boxer was to have. Cherish your time with each other, their little lives are too short.

    Reply

  11. […] Fancy Towels w/Pockets! « Dinner & Discourse I love this, not sure I'll ever do it… but if I had a guest bathroom I might. […]

    Reply

  12. Wow! You must be really detail-oriented to learn how to fold towels like that. Also, the pic with the dog laying on your towels is really cute! David

    Reply

  13. Posted by Valarie on August 22, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Stacy,
    My husband and I are putting our house on the market and we were told to stage our master bath as if it were a spa. I googled how to fold towels. I came across your site and tried it with my 3 yr old watching me. When I got done she said “wow mommy that looks cool”. I know I am going to have a hard time keeping her from playing with it. I had just as much fun folding as I know my 3 yr old will have tearing it apart. lol Good thing it is way easy to do.
    When I walked into our master bath later that evening I felt like I was entering a spa. What a difference it makes to just fold the towels in an eligant way. I might just do this in our new house just for the eligant feel I have when entering our master bath. lol

    Reply

  14. I am impressed with your towel folding skills. It almost looks like your towels are mini flower arrangements. I also like the nice natural contrast between blue and white colors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

