Chicken Pot Pie 2 Ways

    C (husband) loves my chicken pot pie. I decided to be a rebel and make it different way though to see if he noticed! :) The only/main difference is in how the filling is made. In one recipe, you simply use cream of chicken soup and in the other you make your own cream of chicken-like mixture. I kind of prefer the do-it-yourself way, but C prefers the easy way, which is nice sometimes too :)
The more involved, rebel recipe can be found here.
Ingredients:

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cubed
  • 1 cup sliced carrots Note: I put in one can of drained peas and carrots for all veggies.
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • ½ cup sliced celery Note: Omitted.
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon celery seed
  • 1¾ cups chicken broth
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 (9 inch) unbaked pie crusts

    The recipe says to cube and then boil the chicken. I’ve boiled and pan fried the chicken in a little olive oil and I don’t really have a preference. If you do decided to boil the chicken though, throw some bouillon cubes in the water and use that as your chicken broth ingredient :) The advantage to starting out with cubed meat is that you don’t have to burn your hands trying to cut it into cubes once it’s cooked. The trickiest part with this one is making enough filling and getting it to the right consistency. The reviewers at Allrecipes suggest doubling the sauce ingredients, with which I agree. There’s nothing worse than a dry pot pie! They’re supposed to gooey and creamy, not pasty, so I definitely suggest making more filling. You make this kind of like you make the roux discussed in the Cheeseburger Soup post, except you’re adding chicken broth and milk as well.

Thankfully, it tastes better than it looks. The sauce.

    The sauce looks disgusting, kind of like um..well, I won’t go there for those of you with a weak stomach. Trying to increase readership you know, so I don’t need to turn the five of you who aren’t my momma away ;) ha! But really, it’s good. Very flavorful. However, C doesn’t like the onions in it! I guess you could just omit those if your family isn’t big on onions, but I think it gives it a lot of flavor. The recipe says to put the chicken in the bottom and pour the sauce on top. Why? We don’t know. I mix it all together and then put it in the crust.
    Popping the second pie crust from it’s tin is tricky and I destroyed many a crust before getting the hang of it. This could be totally in my head, but I find that the Walmart brand deep dish frozen crusts work best. Keep the second crust in the freezer until about five minutes before you’re ready to use it. Place it on top of the other crust with the pot pie in it and use your fingernails to pull the tin away from the crust, moving around the tin freeing little areas as you go. It usually pops out before you even make it all the way around. Make sure to gently poke some holes in the top with a knife! Place the pie on a cookie sheet to prevent drips from making you have to clean your oven!

Before


After

   Beautiful! Aesthetically, it’s kind of hit or miss. Sometimes they come out pretty like this one did, but sometimes I’ve got explosions and glops of pie falling onto the cookie sheet below.


    Pot Pie numero dos is here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch double crust pie
  • 1 carrot, chopped Note: I just use one can of drained peas and carrots.
  • 1 head fresh broccoli, chopped Note: Omitted.
  • 2 boneless chicken breast halves, cooked and chopped Note: 1lb.
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup Note: I use 98% fat free.
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • ½ teaspoon salt

    The only changes I make to this except for the ingredients noted above is the cooking time and temperature. If I need to make this in a hurry, I stick with the 425° and 30 minutes. However, if I have time, I lower the temp to about 350° and cook it for 45 minutes to an hour. Either way is ok, I just prefer the second option if I have time :) Hope you enjoy! C LOVES the second version of pot pie.

Would I make this for someone else?: Yes! Either one of them depending on how much time I had. The first one takes a little longer to make.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bryan on February 16, 2010 at 1:36 am

    You can also use a store-bought pie crust for the bottom and then put a puff pastry shell on top instead of the other pie crust! Just use water to meld it to the bottom crust. I make my own chicken pot pie by buying a store bought chicken, a bag of peas and carrots (frozen) and frozen corn. I start with making chicken stock with better than bouillion, then add the peas and carrots and bring it to a boil. I then add the chicken from the store bought rotissaire chicken, I usually hand pull it. You can add some cream if you want to make it creamy, then I thicken with as much or as little cornstarch & water slurry as needed to bring it to the consistency that I want. I let it cool off a litte, fill the pie crusts,then put puff pastry ontop and cook until the crusts are browned. Using this method (obviously not a fine-tuned recipe) you can get the consistency you want along with as much or little meant and veggies you want … you really can’t mess it up!

    Reply

    • I’ve always thought about puff pastry–is it easy to work with? I mean, I see people use it on TV but figure the pie crust is easier. The PP might be tastier though. Corn would be a good addition! :) How do you make the chicken stock? Do you prefer the slurry over the roux? I use cornstarch when I make beef stew, but I never notice that it really thicken. I only use about 1tbsp of water/cornstarch though…
      Love homemade pot pie :)

      Reply

  2. Posted by Bryan on February 20, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Puff pastry is VERY easy .. you can take super thick pot pie filling, put it inside a little puff pastry pocket, seal the edges w/ water and press down with a fork, then bake until golden brown and have instant hot pockets! They freeze well, too!

    For using it with pies, I use the storebought crust for the bottom, then use the puff pastry on top and it is light and crispy – much better than the pie crust top.

    A roux is nice, but a slurry accomplishes the same thing, especially if you add some butter in when you use it – the fat from the butter gives the wornstarch or flour and water slurry mixture something to grab on to and thickens it quickly. Using flour over cornstarch, I think, gives it a consistency like it was chicken soup with dumplings, just thickened over time whereas cornstarch just makes it thick without adding that certain something the flour adds … The four (or cornstarch) water and butter is the same ingredients as a roux, just you make the slurry with liquid to evenly disperse it into the dish. A roux on the other hand can have more flavor to it, but if you’re looking to do it quick then just a slurry – I rarely make a roux. The other thing you can do with a roux is make it VERY dark without burning it – basically cook it at medium heat, maybe higher or lower depending on how fast it is going, and keep stiring it for 30min plus. Just DO NOT burn it. You’ll end up with a flavorful, almost nutty smell from it, especially if you can get it to chocolate brown without burning it. Make sure you use a heavy bottomed pan – I have a cast iron dutch oven I’ll use. Then, you add your vegetables to it, then meat, then add your chicken stock and you’ll basically have gumbo! The dark roux with the almost nutty smell is what makes a gumbo … but you don’t have to go as dark as chocolate brown to impart some additional flavors into it.

    You need to use much more cornstarch n water to thicken anything in a big pot – just add a bunch in and then add more liquid if you need to … try it with water/flour instead, then add the butter. You’ll see that once some butter is introduced it almost immediately thickens up. Also, you don’t need to go by the ratios they say for a slurry. i’ll just add some water to the flour, mix it, if its too thick, i add more liquid, too thin, more flour and adjust … I just don’t like adding the extra liduid, but I want the slurry to be dispersed evenly. I’ll even make it with stock instead of water in order to not lose the flavor in the food, and then the ratio completely doesn’t matter. I also find that adding the liquid to the dry ingredients and then mixing, then adding more liquid helps to prevent chunks in from the flour or cornstarch – although, cornstarch never seems to get lumps, only flour & water.

    Play and enjoy!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bryan on February 20, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Oh, I use better than bullion to make the stock … no sense in trying to make a homemade one for 3+ hours when you can buy it in a jar! The better than bullion is truly better, its more of a paste – not dry.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Bryan on February 22, 2010 at 12:11 am

    I know my mom gets it in NH, so i’m sure its where you are … yes, by the bouillon cubes.

    you’re correct, dark roux for Gumbo – the darker the better for Gumbo! Its what makes Gumbo.

    You can put nearly anything in the puff pastry, like you said – endless ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

