Cheeseburger Soup

    Let me be honest: this review/how-to/whatever you want to call this is completely biased because I LOVE Cheeseburger Soup. A Bible study friend of mine introduced me to it and now I’m pretty sure we eat at least every 10 days. It’s probably not all that healthy, but you can sneak a lot of vegetables in if you so choose!
Cheeseburger Soup
Ingredients:

  • ½ pound ground beef Note: 1lb for me.
  • ¾ cup chopped onion
  • ¾ cup shredded carrots Note: I use two lg carrots, chopped.
  • ¾ cup chopped celery Note: 3 lg stalks for me.
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 4 tablespoons butter Note: I eyeball this…
  • 3 cups chicken broth Note: Eyeball for the roux.
  • 4 cups cubed potatoes Note: 2 Russet’s for me
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flourNote: 1/8 for me.
  • 2 cups cubed Cheddar cheese Note: 1 block (8oz) sharp cheddar.
  • 1½ cups milk Note: Eyeball for the roux, but no more than half this.
  • ¼ cup sour cream

    There is one thing I dislike about this recipe: the prep time! There are a lot of things to chop and peel and at the close of my day (the hour or so before daddy comes home! Thank the Lord!), it’s just a lot of stuff to do. A is tired and ready to see someone else, I’m tired and ready to not be the only adult in the house, etc. So, during the day, if the opportunity presents itself, I’ll chop and peel everything beforehand and stick it in the fridge. The day I made this, A was playing so nicely by herself that I seized the moment and got everything done (I forgot the potatoes though) in about 10 minutes! I highly recommend doing all the prep work before hand. To prevent the potatoes from turning brown, keep them in a water+ice bath in the fridge; works perfectly :)

Large carrot

Prepped :)

Yummy vegetables

    As for making the roux, I half the flour, butter, and milk because I don’t like my soup to be too thick. Roux’s are tricky, but they’re basically just butter and flour blended together. Start by first melting the butter on low heat and then add the flour, whisking all the while. It will thicken. Let it cook a few minutes to get rid of the flour flavor; when it’s thickened and you’re happy with the taste, whisk it into your soup! My first few times were pretty horrible and I was totally turned off from even trying it again, but you get the hang of it eventually :)

Not thickened

Finito!

    I use less cheese than it calls for, but I’ve never missed it. I just cube up a block of cheese of my choosing. I also add a dollop of mascarpone cheese as a nod to my favorite cheftess, Giada! hah :) And because I buy it for a handful of recipes and it usually just sits in my fridge going bad unless I invent ways to use it, but it’s totally optional. With or without, this soup is beyond delicious!

Husband rating: 8.5

Would I make this for someone else?: Absolutely!

Amazing.

    I did the best I could with this little nutritional information chart. Can’t be too horribly off, but don’t be your diet on it!

Nutrition Facts



User Entered Recipe

6 Servings

Amount Per Serving

Calories 348.9
Total Fat 19.0 g
Saturated Fat 9.2 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.1 g
Monounsaturated Fat 1.4 g
Cholesterol 74.3 mg
Sodium 668.3 mg
Potassium 505.4 mg
Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
Sugars 2.9 g
Protein

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sis in law on February 14, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    make me some. thanks. bye.

    Reply

  2. […] suggest making more filling. You make this kind of like you make the roux discussed in the Cheeseburger Soup post, except you’re adding chicken broth and milk as well. Thankfully, it tastes better than […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dixie (mom) on February 16, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Your details are so great. I’m going to try this. How long do you cook it and do you have to precook the veggies or do you put in raw.

    Reply

    • You do cook the veggies first I think in some butter and then you brown the meat and continue on with the recipe :) it’s sooooooo good. just don’t make too much roux or else it’s not soupy enough.

      Reply

  4. have you ever used a food processor for the veggies? it cuts your prep time a lot! (but you still have to cut up the potatoes-ug-i hate cutting up potatoes!)

    Reply

    • I don’t have a food processor, but it’s on my Mother’s Day list! :) I kind of like the chunkiness of these vegetables though because the soup is so hearty. I reeeaaalllly want a food processor though :))

      Reply

  5. […] for soups, no? I love this soup as well and although it it’s not as creamy and rich as the Cheeseburger Soup, it makes up for it in easy of preparation. This is another gem from Allrecipes. I love that […]

    Reply

  6. […] and cheap, which makes it taste even better. I can’t take credit it for it though. Like the cheeseburger soup, it’s a Bible study […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

