What’s it like being a Christian?

   It is like being a pumpkin. God picks you from the patch, brings you in, and washes all the dirt off of you. Then he cuts off the top and scoops out all the yucky stuff.
    He removes the seeds of doubt, hate, greed, etc., and then He carves you a new smiling face and puts His light inside of you to shine for all the world to see.

    This morning started out pretty yucky looking. I knew I didn’t have a shot with the cold, but “God, could you please please bring the sun out” was mine and daughter’s prayer this morning at breakfast. I knew it was going to be one of those days where everyone, the dog included, needed to get out of the house or..else. When I packed everyone up into the car, it was windy and still kind of gray, but I have learned one thing this winter: daughter will not be hurt by cold weather. She tells me when she’s done and wants to go back inside, so I will not make excuses to stay inside based on the weather. I’ve also learned that I avoided going outside on cold days more for my concern (who likes standing around in the cold?!) than hers (parenting fail).
    Everybody was happy to be there today. The dog did great for her first time out on the leash and daughter played on in spite of the wind. I even ignored my frozen hands (why didn’t I bring gloves for myself?!) and had a good time. And then it happened, the sun came out and the wind stopped. I mean, ordinarily this isn’t all that newsworthy. Really, it isn’t. But it’s such a blessing to me to be able to show my daughter answers to prayer even in the little things. We thanked the Lord and just had a great time at the park. There is nothing on earth more precious than hearing a little person bless His name about even the smallest answers to prayer. Yes God made the world, but He hears you, and brought you some sunshine today.

Psalm 8:2 From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger.

    It’s just been a good day. I love opportunities like that. Even though I worked 16 hours the night before, came home and started on my 8:30a to 9:00p (tonight, anyway) motherly duties, God answered my cries for sunshine too.

    We will be celebrating daughter’s third birthday this Saturday! WOWIE ZOWIE! I will be making my first fondant-covered cake, so be looking for that exciting experience on D&D :) The recipe for dinner tonight came from the back of a pierogi box :p I’ll let you know…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie Keeton on January 29, 2010 at 9:21 am

    You are such a good writer. Totally entertaining! The pumpkin analogy made me cry. Beautiful. I’m going to read to my Bible Study class. The pork chop dinner experience was great, especially the fall and water clean up. Glad she’s okay. Good writing. love you.

    Reply

  2. Girl-I did NOT know you made that awesome cake! I was just impressed that you tracked down someone who could make a cake that good-looking! Ahhhh, I will never be the wife & mother you are :)
    Also, love your post. It’s really sweet & I know God likes it too :)
    You are such an amazing person! Husband & daughter are SO LUCKY to have you!

    Reply

    • I totally did make that cake! It’s kind of a tradition (in all the three years she’s been alive). Her first birthday, I made her a ladybug cake in honor of her nickname. Second, Cam and I each made a Brobee cake (his won for accuracy, but mine was prettier :)). Its fun! Google is my best friend!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Jennie on February 9, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Love this post :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

