Blogging, really?



Most people reading this are doing so because I thought they might be interested and told them about it. For those of you who stumbled here some other way--a little about myself. I’m a Christian. Not an awesome one, but I do love the Lord and my desire is to live in such a way that is pleasing to Him. Some people who know me might even be surprised by that, which means I haven’t done all that great a job, but I am a work in progress (Philippians 1:6 For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus). Christian, check. I’m also a wife. I’m not trying to get stalked or anything crazy like that, so my name is wife and my husband’s name is husband. I love him bunches. Since this is introductory, I won’t go into a lot of detail about that, but I’m sure it’ll come up again. I’m also the mother of a darling angel named, you might have guessed it, daughter. She’s beyond description in the best possible way. I’m a daughter and sister too.
 I’m a stay at home mom, which is way harder than working outside the home. How do I know? Because I work evenings and midnights outside of the home too. I wouldn’t call my outside job hard,  but it just complicates things and causes me to be outside of the home where my real joy and love and work is, but I do have time to blog there! Ha! I’m old-fashioned. I cook and clean and grocery shop, all that jazz. Husband is great to help when I ask and sometimes even when I don’t. It’s dizzyingly exhausting some days, but shockingly rewarding too. I wouldn’t change it. Well, to be honest, that’s a lie; I would love to not have to work at all so that I could focus on what I think I do best, taking care of my family. Anyhow, I digress. 

So why one earth do I think I need to start a blog? Because I have hours of free time just sitting around waiting to be wasted, that’s why! Not really. I’m not sure why exactly. I love to talk about myself, obviously? No, not that. It started out because I try to cook dinner five or six nights a week (try, don’t judge me if I only make it to four or something) and I try to keep things poppin’ and mixed up, so it was going to be about my dinner adventures. I also make other random things: muffins, cookies, bread and so on in order to pass the time on slow days with daughter. Then I came up with a catchy name to include things beyond dinner, so that if I wanted to do a movie review one day it would fit within the parameters of my description. And so, Dinner & Discourse (D&D) begins.	 So that’s that. I’ll do it as often as I feel keen to and time permits. I’ve got my hands full, but I like to talk :) And smile, and share dinner and recipe ideas, etc.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dixie Keeton on January 25, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Good Blogging. More dinner hints and nutritional tips would be nice. Think I will start one too. How did you do it? Mine would be “DOODADS FROM DIXIE”. LOL

    Reply

  2. Posted by Becky on January 26, 2010 at 9:36 am

    idea for blogging/sharing . . . my daughter is younger but has started the “i don’t eat anything that i can’t put in my mouth by myself” phase. i don’t want to just be giving her bread the rest of her life. any tips/suggestions on healthy eating for toddlers?

    Reply

    • I used to give da baby all kinds of random cut up things: little dices of celery, strawberries, blueberries, melons, even small bites of green pepper (which she doesn’t always like, but she tries it at least!). I used to bite grapes in half and give them to her too. We used to live on 98% fat free turkey hot dogs. I would skin them and cut them small of course. Honey nut cheerios aren’t bad. Mine is the same way with bread; she’s never met a carb she didn’t like and I’m pretty OCD about letting her just eat bread. How old is yours now? We did biter biscuits and those Gerber puffs a lot too. The yogurt bites, pieces of cheese, deli meat, triscuits. Maybe even pieces of the shredded wheat cereal? Ooo bananas always worked well. Here’s a website too :) Does that help?

      Reply

      • Posted by becky on February 2, 2010 at 10:06 am

        oh, yes this helps and I will check out the website as well. she loves green beans, cheese, and again, anything carbs. . . but I am going to try the turkey hotdog, deli meat and a few others to get that protein. she does not like strawberries, bananas, or grapes (i think it is the texture thing and tartness) but i am not giving up on these just yet. she is ONE this month. canNOT believe it! thanks again for the ideas, i need all i can get!

  3. Posted by CStoll on February 9, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    That is a hard age for getting them to eat much. They still could eat some baby food to get in the nutrients, but won’t let you feed them because they want to do it themselves.

    I always had good luck with drained chicken noodle soup. Make sure it’s chunky with lots of veggies. The chicken broth gives everything good flavor, she’ll love the noodles (if you make homemade, can make with wheat pasta for an added bonus), and then she’ll be more likely to eat the carrots, celery, and chicken (and whatever else you put in). Sometimes the chicken needs cut/shredded into small enough pieces. I guess you could use almost any kind of soup/stew, as long as the tough meat was cut up.

    I can’t remember what else we did, but our second child is coming up on that age way too quickly. So I guess I’ll have a refresher course whether I like it or not, huh.

    I keep trying avocados, but they get rejected after a couple bites. Oh, we did the puffs and yogurt bites pretty often, too. Other ideas: corn, green beans, broccoli, peas (all cooked), tomatoes, meatballs or meatloaf, mandarin oranges (kind in the canned fruit aisle), very ripe peaches/pears (or canned), cinnamon Life cereal, cut-up prunes, ravioli filled with meat/cheese and served with sauce/cheese on top, and…. I’ve run out of ideas….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

